Reviews of Urban American: Unsettling stories.

6 Apr

Let’s start off by gathering some reviews from around the web. The following statements are the opinions of the authors listed, writing on the given review-based sites.

On Merchant Circle, there isn’t a single positive comment. Here are a couple of choice quotes:

  • Says “Sharon” on October 25th, 2010: “Why cant I ever get anyone to talk on the phone? Why am I referred to a voice mail and never get a call back?”: This is a common Urban American problem. Their phone tree is confusing to navigate, and it’s only possible to reach a human being on Monday through Friday, from 9 to 5. Therefore, if you have issues with your apartment and work a full-time job, you have to call the “emergency” line. In my accompanying lease paperwork, I was told that Urban American would charge me if you needed emergency repairs! This clearly disregards NYC tenant law, which states that landlords must repair violations free of cost.
  • Says an anonymous individual from Elmhurst on March 28th, 2011: We have been complaining about heating and hot water for days and still there is no reply. A guy came up to inspect the pealing paint of our bathtub in Jan 11, but till date none came to fix it.. They hung up on your face if you make any complaints. So what do you give this management but a Zero for rating.”
  • This review, written by Dorrett in Brooklyn, on December 27th, 2010, is personally deeply upsetting to read: “Urban American MGT Corp is the worst ever. I’ve been waiting over a month to get my toilet unclogged i have to use the bathroom at the neighbors, the neareset restarants. They have made false promises to repiar on several occasions and still one month and no
    toilet. It is 2010 and this is America, where in America do we have to defecate in plastic bags.
    There are no words.
  • On April 26th, 2010, Jewel in Hollis wrote: “The fact is, if my white boyfriend didn’t call the property manager’s boss to report problems, nothing would ever get done. My building in occupied mostly by blacks and Latinos, I myself am West Indian. Any time I complained I was essentially ignored. My bedroom ceiling has been leaking for 2 months. I have bedbugs. I use to have roaches before I paid for my own exterminator. I use to have mice before I got a cat. My shower was above 180 degrees for 2 months before it got fixed.”
  •  

More sites ahead:

NYC.com has three pages worth of negative reviews about Urban American Management, and again, not a single positive one as of April 7th, 2011.

  • Perez_Stephanie_N in Jackson Heights wrote, on July 15th, 2009: “I have lived in an Urban American building for the past 2 years. It is a constant problem to get in touch with the office for repairs, they do not return phone calls. Good luck getting someone to pay attention to you, even when you complain of RATS making noise between the walls! My elevator has smelled of garbage for as long as I can remember, and repairs and renovations are short of mediocre. I have tried but failed to be released from my contract, and would never recommend an Urban American building to anyone!”

Heading over to Yelp now:

  • Adil E. from the Bronx, on March 6th, 2011, writes: “Bad bad service, suck management, no hot water or heat few days a week, keep raising rent, if something needs repairs in your aprt it takes up to 3 weeks to get it fix.”

There is one site that offers positive reviews of Urban American — Kannekt, which I have not previously heard of. Their reviews of Urban American are bright and cheery. For the record, I tried adding a review detailing my personal situation with regards to my apartment’s maintenance issues, and the review was promptly deleted. Unlike other reviews sites, Kannekt will remove reviews if the company complains. It makes me wonder if Urban American has kept tabs on this site in order to maintain its image.

Are you a former or current Urban American tenant? Please write to me with your experience at urbanamericanmanagementinfo@yahoo.com with details. I pledge to keep your information anonymous.

2 Responses to “Reviews of Urban American: Unsettling stories.”

  1. Maria August 14, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    August 14; 2011 11:15am. If you think the people in India had languahe barrier then you won’t want to live in the Bronx renting from Urban American Management. I woke up to leaking in the dinning room and kitchen. 8 tried to stop the leaking but it just got worse. It seems that water somehow got inside the wall. Anys it 6:54am at this time, so I called UAM and left a voice message. At 7:15am, I went downstairs to speak with the superindent and surprise surprise he was not there. All I saw was this man coming out of the elevator with the actually butt hanging out of his pants and he looked like he was f***ing

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. These are real – and illegal – problems. « Slumlord Millionaires - July 27, 2011

    […] of heat in the dead of winter is a real problem. (1, 2, 3, 4, […]

Leave a Reply

